Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

The RCMP K Division (Alberta) provides federal, provincial, municipal and First Nations policing services in Alberta through 107 detachments. As Alberta’s provincial police service the Division is divided geographically into five districts which provide front-line policing services to Albertans under contracts with the Government of Alberta or directly with municipalities. The RCMP is unique in that it provides policing at the municipal, provincial, national and international levels. Albertans benefit from this integration in various ways; including detachments ability to access specialty support services such as Police Dog Services, Emergency Response Teams and Air Services, without the associated costs.

The RCMP may be called to assist other municipal police agencies or local authorities experiencing an event.

Further information about the RCMP can be found at:

Previous Table of Contents Next